Frazier elected to College Football Hall of Fame - News, Weather and Sports for Lincoln, NE;

Frazier elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Posted: Updated:

Posted By:  KLKN Newsroom

Nebraska quarterback Tommie Frazier, long ignored by the College Football Hall of Fame, has been elected to the prestigious group.   

Frazier, who led the 1994 and 1995 Nebraska national championship teams, was announced Tuesday as one of 12 new inductees. Frazier finished second to Eddie George in the 1995 Heisman Trophy race, and led the Huskers to a 38-point rout of Florida in the 1995 Fiesta Bowl National Championship Game.  He's the 16th Nebraska player to make it to the hall.

Three legendary Heisman Trophy winners -- stretching from Miami's Vinny Testaverde in 1986 through Florida's Danny Wuerffel in 1996 to Wisconsin's Ron Dayne in 1999 were also elected.

Other inductees include:

• Ohio State offensive tack Orlando Pace, who won two Lombardi Awards and an Outland Trophy in his three-year career.

• Arizona defensive tackle Tedy Bruschi, a lightly recruited player from northern California who became a two-time All-American. Bruschi went on to win three Super Bowl rings with the New England Patriots and now works for ESPN.

• North Carolina State tailback Ted Brown, the only four-time All-ACC player in conference history

• Texas defensive back Jerry Gray, now the Tennessee Titans' defensive coordinator.

• Kentucky end Steve Meilinger, nominated by the Veterans Committee.

• The late Oklahoma linebacker Rod Shoate.

• Michigan State linebacker Percy Snow.

• Baylor quarterback Don Trull.

• Two coaches: Bill McCartney, who took over a rundown Colorado program in 1982 and led it to a share of the 1990 national championship; and Wayne Hardin, who coached 19 seasons at Navy (1959-64) and Temple (1970-82).

Source:  ESPN

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KLKN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.