2013 NU Volleyball Schedule - News, Weather and Sports for Lincoln, NE; KLKNTV.com

2013 NU Volleyball Schedule

Posted:

Posted By: Sports

sports@klkntv.com

A total of 10 matches against NCAA qualifiers, including non-conference showdowns against defending Nation Champion Texas, as well as Iowa State and Saint Mary's, highlight the 2013 Nebraska volleyball schedule released on Tuesday.

 

The schedule which includes 15 home matches, will provide numerous tests for the Huskers as they come off a 26-7 season which included a berth in the NCAA Regional Final.

 

The Huskers will open the 2013 season on the road at the Marcia E. Hamilton Classic hosted by the University of Saint Louis on Aug. 30-31 with Saint Louis, Auburn and Louisiana-Monroe. Nebraska will return home on Sept. 6-7 for a home tournament with Georgia, Southern Mississippi and Villanova. Playing in the beautifully renovated Bob Devaney Sports Center this year, a court naming dedication in honor of former Nebraska head coach Terry Pettit will take place on Sept. 6. The naming is the result of a generous gift given by Bill and Ruth Scott. NU will then host the Ameritas Player's Challenge on Sept. 12-14 as the Huskers will take on St. Mary's, Iowa State and Dayton.

 

Nebraska will hit the road for the final non-conference match of the season as the Huskers will take on Texas on Sept. 22.

 

NU will begin conference play on Sept. 27 when the team travels to Northwestern for a Friday night match before hitting the road again to take on Illinois on Saturday, Sept. 28. Nebraska's first home conference match will be on Oct. 4 against Minnesota, before they host Wisconsin on Saturday, Oct. 5.

 

The Huskers will play home-and-home series with Northwestern, Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Michigan State, Indiana, Purdue and Iowa. The Huskers will also travel to Ohio State on Oct. 25 and will conclude the regular season with a home match on Nov. 30 against Penn State.

 

The NCAA Tournament will begin December 5-7, with the first two rounds at campus sites. Nebraska will host one of four regionals, along with Illinois, UCLA and Kentucky, on Dec. 13-14, while the national semifinals and championship will be December 19 and December 21 at KeyArena in Seattle, Wash.

 

Ticket and TV information, including start times for selected matches will be announced at a later date.

 

2013 Nebraska Volleyball Schedule

Friday, Aug. 30 Saint Louis Tournament St. Louis, Missouri TBA (Saint Louis, Auburn, Louisiana-Monroe) Saturday, Aug. 31 Saint Louis Tournament St. Louis, Missouri TBA (Saint Louis, Auburn, Louisiana-Monroe) Friday, Sept. 6 Villanova Devaney Center TBA Saturday, Sept. 7 Georgia Devaney Center TBA Thursday, Sept. 12 St. Mary's Devaney Center TBA (Ameritas Player's Challenge) Friday, Sept. 13 Dayton Devaney Center TBA (Ameritas Player's Challenge) Saturday, Sept. 14 Iowa State Devaney Center TBA (Ameritas Player's Challenge) Sunday, Sept. 22 Texas Austin, Texas 1 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 27 Northwestern* Evanston, Ill. 7 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 28 Illinois* Champaign, Ill. TBA Friday, Oct. 4 Minnesota* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 5 Wisconsin* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 11 Michigan* Ann Arbor, Mich. 6 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 12 Michigan State* East Lansing, Mich. TBA Friday, Oct. 18 Indiana* Devaney Center TBA Saturday, Oct. 19 Purdue* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 23 Iowa* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 25 Ohio State* Columbus, Ohio 6 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 30 Illinois* Devaney Center TBA Saturday, Nov. 2 Northwestern* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Friday, Nov. 8 Wisconsin* Madison, Wis. 7 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 10 Minnesota* Minneapolis, Minn. TBA Friday, Nov. 15 Michigan State* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 16 Michigan* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Friday, Nov. 22 Purdue* West Lafayette, Ind. 6 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 23 Indiana* Bloomington, Ind. 6 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 27 Iowa* Iowa City, Iowa 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 30 Penn State* Devaney Center 7 p.m. Thurs-Sat., Dec. 5-8 NCAA 1st & 2nd Rounds Campus Sites Fri.-Sat., Dec. 13-14 NCAA Regionals Lincoln/Los Angeles/Champaign/Lexington Thursday, Dec. 19 NCAA National Semifinals Seattle, Wash. (KeyArena) Saturday, Dec. 21 National Championship Match Seattle, Wash. (KeyArena)

*-Big Ten Matches; Schedule information current as of June 4, 2013; All times listed are Central and subject to change

Saturday, Aug. 24 Red/White Scrimmage Devaney Center 7 p.m.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KLKN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.