Huskers Earn Big Ten Postseason Soccer Honors - News, Weather and Sports for Lincoln, NE;

Huskers Earn Big Ten Postseason Soccer Honors


Posted By: Sports

The Big Ten Conference announced the 2013 women's soccer All-Big Ten teams and individual honors Tuesday, with Big Ten Champion Nebraska earning three accolades. The Cornhuskers' Jordan Jackson was named Midfielder of the Year, Ari Romero was selected as Defender of the Year and John Walker claimed Coach of the Year honors. Illinois' Janelle Flaws was named Forward of the Year, while Minnesota's Tarah Hobbs was tabbed Goalkeeper of the Year. Wisconsin's Rose Lavelle was named Freshman of the Year.


Flaws led the Big Ten in goals (20) and shots (95), while ranking second in the nation in goals and third in goals per game (1.05). She was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 3.


Jackson paced Nebraska with 23 points on the season, including eight goals and seven assists. She helped the Cornhuskers claim their first Big Ten title in school history. Jackson was tabbed the Big Ten's Offensive Player of the Week on Oct. 14.


Romero helped Nebraska post four shutouts during Big Ten play, anchoring a back line that allowed just 10 goals in conference games. Romero was a second-team All-Big Ten defender last season.


Hobbs made a conference-best 114 saves (7.12 saves per game) during the regular season. She posted four shutouts during Big Ten play and was twice named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week.


Lavelle started all 18 matches for Wisconsin in her debut campaign, scoring six goals to go along with a team second-best seven assists. She was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Week on Sept. 16.


Walker led Nebraska to a 15-3-1 record, including a 10-1-0 mark in Big Ten play. The Cornhuskers enter the Big Ten Tournament ranked No. 18 in the NSCAA/NCAA top 25 poll and are on a six-game winning streak.


Flaws, Jackson, Romero, Hobbs and Lavelle earned spots in the All-Big Ten first team and were joined by Michigan's Nkem Ezurike, Holly Hein, Meghan Toohey and Shelina Zadorsky, and Penn State's Maya Hayes and Mallory Weber. Flaws and Romero were both unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selections. The complete All-Big Ten teams, including All-Freshman team, can be found below.


The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.




Coach of the Year: JOHN WALKER, Nebraska

Forward of the Year: Jannelle Flaws, Illinois

Midfielder of the Year: Jordan Jackson, Nebraska
Defender of the Year: Ari Romero, Nebraska
Goalkeeper of the Year: Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota 

Freshman of the Year: Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin


All-Big Ten Teams 

Position First Team Second Team

Forward JANNELLE FLAWS, Illinois Cloe Lacasse, Iowa

 Nkem Ezurike, Michigan Jaycie Johnson, Nebraska

Maya Hayes, Penn State Nichelle Prince, Ohio State

Midfield Meghan Toohey, Michigan Lisa Nouanesengsy, Indiana

 Jordan Jackson, Nebraska Taylor Schram, Penn State

Mallory Weber, Penn State Kinley McNicoll, Wisconsin

Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin


Defense Holly Hein, Michigan Melanie Pickert, Iowa

Shelina Zadorsky, Michigan Mary Kathryn Fiebernitz, Michigan State

ARI ROMERO, Nebraska Megan Fuller, Ohio State

Whitney Church, Penn State


Goalkeeper Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota Emma Stevens, Nebraska



All-Freshman Team*


Forward MADISSON LEWIS, Michigan


Nichelle Prince, Ohio State


Midfield Veronica Ellis, Indiana

Josee Stiever, Minnesota

Sydney Miramontez, Nebraska

Alexis Degler, Ohio State



Defense Amanda Lulek, Iowa

Brittany Basinger, Penn State

Kylie Schwarz, Wisconsin


Goalkeeper Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota


* Additional honoree due to tie.

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS


Sportsmanship Award Honorees:

Kristen Gierman, Sr., Illinois

Rebecca Dreher, Jr., Indiana

Alex Melin, Sr., Iowa

Chloe Sosenko, Jr., Michigan

Kelsey Mullen, Sr., Michigan State

Steph Brandt, Sr., Minnesota

Hannah Dittmar, Jr., Nebraska

Kate Allen, Sr., Northwestern

Ellyn Gruber, Jr., Ohio State

Tani Costa, Sr., Penn State

Hadley Stuart, Sr., Purdue

Marisa Kresge, So., Wisconsin

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KLKN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.