Posted By: Sports

Courtesy: NWU Athletics

LINCOLN, Neb.Nebraska Wesleyan University was one of 42 teams to earn a spot in the 2018 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf National Championships when the field was announced on Monday (May 7) by the NCAA III men’s golf national committee.

The 2018 NCAA DIII Championships will be held May 15-18 at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, North Carolina. A total of 216 participants will compete at the 2018 championships.

Nebraska Wesleyan will be making their 31st appearance at the NCAA III National Championships, but first since 2013. They received an automatic bid to the championships by winning the 2018 IIAC Golf Championships last weekend. Thirty-three conferences were awarded an automatic qualification.

Only the top 15 teams will make the cut after the first 36 holes. NWU has not made the cut since the 2010 season when they finished 17th overall. The Prairie Wolves, who were the 2006 NCAA III National Champions, placed in the top ten six of eight seasons from 2002-2009.

Representing NWU at the championships are one senior, a junior and three freshman for coach Derrick Ceder who was named the IIAC Coach of the Year.

Senior Matt Unruh (Lincoln, Neb.) is a four-time All-Conference performer and leads the team with a stroke average of 74.53. Junior Jeff Paschal (Papillion, Neb.) is a three-year letterwinner with a stroke average of 76.0.

Three freshmen broke into the top five and helped the Prairie Wolves get back to nationals. Christian Hall (Omaha, Neb.) was the IIAC Individual Runner-up and is second on the team with an average of 75.87. Grant Johnson (Lincoln, Neb.) tied for 10th at the IIAC Championships to earn All-Conference honors and he is tied with Paschal for third on team averaging 76.0. The fifth NWU golfer is Alex Kubik (Aurora, Neb.) who has a scoring average of 78.15.

NWU Men’s Golf National Championship Participants

Christian Hall, FR, Omaha, Neb./Millard West HS

Grant Johnson, FR, Lincoln, Neb./Lincoln Lutheran HS

Alex Kubik, FR, Aurora, Neb./Aurora HS

Jeff Paschal, JR, Papillion, Neb./Papillion-LaVista HS

Matt Unruh, SR, Lincoln, Neb./Lincoln East HS