5 Nebraska schools hailed for excellence by national program

Posted By: KLKN Newsroom

       OMAHA, Neb. (AP) _ Five Nebraska schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbons Schools for 2015. The honors announced Tuesday are based on overall academic excellence or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.
        The U.S. Education Department will honor 285 public and 50 private schools at a recognition ceremonies on Nov. 9-10 in Washington.
        The five schools are:
        Arapahoe Elementary School in Arapahoe; Bancroft-Rosalie Elementary School in Bancroft; Douglas County West Elementary School in Valley; St. Robert Bellarmine School in Omaha; and Washington Elementary School in Norfolk.