Abdullah Named Doak Walker Award Semifinalist

By Sports

Nebraska junior running back Ameer Abdullah has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2013 Doak Walker Award, given annually to the nation's top running back. The announcement was made by the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors on Thursday morning.

Abdullah enters Saturday's game with Michigan State with 1,213 rushing yards on the season. His 134.8 rushing yards per game leads the Big Ten and ranks fifth nationally. In conference games, Abdullah has ran for 149.6 yards per contest to easily lead the conference. His 1,213 rushing yards are the most by a Husker player through nine games since Ahman Green in 1997.

Abdullah has topped the century mark on the ground in eight of nine games, including each of the past six games. Abdullah's streak of six straight 100-yard rushing games is the sixth-longest in school history, and his eight 100-yard games in a season are the fifth-most in school history. Abdullah has also caught 21 receptions for 179 yards and his 159.0 all-purpose yards per game leads the Big Ten and ranks 12th nationally.

The selection of Abdullah as a Doak Walker semifinalist marks the second time in three years Nebraska has had a semifinalist for the award. Rex Burkhead was one of 10 semifinalists during his junior season in 2011.

Abdullah is one of two Big Ten running backs on the semifinal list, joining Wisconsin sophomore Melvin Gordon. Other semifinalists include Western Kentucky senior Antonio Andrews, Arizona junior Ka'Deem Carey, South Carolina sophomore Mike Davis, Stanford senior Tyler Gaffney, Auburn junior Tre Mason, Washington junior Bishop Sankey, Baylor junior Lache Seastrunk and Boston College senior Andre Williams.

The three finalists for the Doak Walker Award will be named on Monday, Nov. 25, and the winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12 on ESPN.

(Source: NU Media Relations)