Amukamara Semifinalist for Thorpe Award

Senior cornerback Prince Amukamara was named one of 10 semifinalists for the 20120 Jim Thorpe Award, the Jim Thorpe Association announced on Tuesday.


The Thorpe Award is presented annually to the nation's best defensive back. The award is named in honor of Jim Thorpe, one of the nation's greatest all-around athletes. Finalists for the award are scheduled to be announced on Nov. 22, with the winner announced live on Thursday, Dec. 9 on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards show.


A native of Glendale, Ariz., Amukamara is tied for the national lead with 10 breakups this season, as he has helped Nebraska lead the nation in pass efficiency defense, while ranking third in pass defense. Projected as a top-10 pick in the 2011 NFL Draft, Amukamara has also added 29 tackles this season. He is the only Big 12 player on the list and is NU's first Thorpe Award semifinalist since Josh Bullocks in 2003.


2010 Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalists

Prince Amukamara, Nebraska

Mark Barron, Alabama

Chimdi Chekwa, Ohio State

Brandon Harris, Miami (Fla.)

Cliff Harris, Oregon

Tejay Johnson, TCU

Joe Lefeged, Rutgers

Rahim Moore, UCLA

Patrick Peterson, LSU

Tyler Sash, Iowa