Big Ten Divisions Announced

The expanded Big Ten will place Ohio State and Michigan into different divisions. The conference announced its divisional breakdown Wednesday night, though neither division has been named.

Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota and Northwestern will make up one division when the league grows to 12 teams in 2012. Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Purdue and Indiana are in the other.

Ohio State and Michigan will play each other every year on the last day of the Big Ten season, and could conceivably play each other twice in one season. Because they are in different divisions, the Buckeyes and Wolverines could play in the new Big Ten championship game.