Caputo on Rimington Trophy Award Watch List

Husker center Mike Caputo looks to earn the award named after the greatest center in school history, as the senior was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List on Wednesday.

Caputo keyed the Huskers' rushing attack in his first season as a starter, helping Nebraska lead the Big 12 and rank in the top 10 nationally in rushing at 247.6 yards per game. It  was NU's highest rushing average since 2002, as the Huskers topped 200 yards on the ground in 10 of 14 contests. He paved the way for 12 100-yard rushing efforts on the season, including a win at Washington when Nebraska had three rushers eclipse the 100-yard plateau.

Caputo is one of 13 players featured on the Rimington Trophy Watch list in 2010 and 2011 and one of six Big Ten performers on the 43-member list. The award is named after former Husker great Dave Rimington, a two-time Outland Trophy Winner and member of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The winner will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on Dec. 8 with the banquet taking place in Lincoln on Jan. 14, 2012.

Huskers on 2011 Watch Lists
Bednarik Award – Alfonzo Dennard, Jared Crick, Lavonte David
Lombardi Award – Jared Crick, Cameron Meredith, Lavonte David
Mackey Award – Kyler Reed
Maxwell Award – Taylor Martinez
Nagurski Trophy – Alfonzo Dennard, Jared Crick, Lavonte David
Outland Trophy – Jared Crick
Rimington Trophy – Mike Caputo
Thorpe Award – Alfonzo Dennard