Crick on Walter Camp Award Watch List

All-America defensive tackle Jared Crick continued to rack up preseason honors, as he was named to the Walter Camp Award watch list on Monday. The Camp Award marks the fifth preseason watch list the 6-foot-6, 285-pound senior from Cozad, Neb., has made this offseason.

Crick is one of two defensive tackles – joining Florida State's Brandon Jenkins – and one of just 10 defensive players on the preseason watch list. Crick has also been featured on watch lists for the Bednarik and Lombardi Awards, as well as the Nagurski and Outland Trophies.

Crick anchored a Husker defensive that helped Nebraska rank in the top 12 nationally in scoring defense and total defense in 2010. He totaled 70 tackles, including 36 solo stops, and had 9.5 sacks and 17 tackles for loss to rank second in the Big 12. A two-year starter for the Blackshirts, Crick has totaled 145 career tackles entering 2011, including 32 tackles for loss, and 19 sacks and is in position to break the Huskers' career sack record with a strong senior season.

Crick will look to be the fourth Husker to win the Walter Camp Player-of-the-Year award, joining Eric Crouch (2001), Mike Rozier (1983) and Johnny Rodgers (1972). The 2011 winner will be announced on December 8th

Huskers on 2011 Watch Lists
Bednarik Award – Alfonzo Dennard, Jared Crick, Lavonte David
Butkus Award – Lavonte David
Doak Walker Award – Rex Burkhead
Lombardi Award – Jared Crick, Cameron Meredith, Lavonte David
Mackey Award – Kyler Reed
Maxwell Award – Taylor Martinez
Nagurski Trophy – Alfonzo Dennard, Jared Crick, Lavonte David
O'Brien Award – Taylor Martinez
Outland Trophy – Jared Crick
Rimington Trophy – Mike Caputo
Thorpe Award – Alfonzo Dennard
Walter Camp Award – Jared Crick