Edwards, Lockman Named to Tournament Team

Posted by: Sports


Six different Badgers drove in a run and pitcher Cassandra Darrah allowed just two hits as Wisconsin claimed the 2013 Big Ten Softball Tournament title with a 9-3 victory over Minnesota on Sunday afternoon at Bowlin Stadium in Lincoln, Neb. The fourth-seeded Badgers win their first Big Ten Tournament championship and secure the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament, their first appearance in the national event since 2005 and fourth overall.


With the score tied, 2-2, entering the bottom of the fourth inning, the Wisconsin offense exploded for five runs to take a 7-2 lead, one it would not relinquish. Minnesota added a run in the top of the sixth, while Wisconsin added two in the bottom of the frame to complete the scoring. Darrah earned the complete-game win, striking out seven en route to winning Most Outstanding Player honors.


The 2013 NCAA Tournament field will be announced at 10 p.m. ET on Sunday.


2013 Big Ten Softball All-Tournament Team

Sara Driesenga, Michigan

Ashley Lane, Michigan

Alex Davis, Minnesota

Sara Moulton, Minnesota

Tatum Edwards, Nebraska

Emily Lockman, Nebraska

Amy Letourneau, Northwestern

Cassidy Bell, Penn State

Andie Varsho, Purdue

Cassandra Darrah, Wisconsin

Stefanni LaJeunesse, Wisconsin

Maria Van Abel, Wisconsin


Most Outstanding Player: Cassandra Darrah, Wisconsin

Source: Big Ten Conference