Five Lincoln teachers honored by students

Posted by: Abigail Wood

Five teachers were honored Tuesday morning at the governor’s mansion. It was all a part of Lincoln Public Schools’ Thank You Teacher breakfast ceremony in honor of Nebraska Teacher Recognition Day. This year, more than 500 kids wrote letters to the governor nominating one of their teachers to be honored at the ceremony.

Five entries were chosen, and those students read their letters aloud at the ceremony in honor of their teachers. The winning pairs are as follows:

First-Grader Hugh Skretta wrote in praising his teacher Amy Judd, who has been a first-grade teacher at Sheridan Elementary School for nine years. He says she pays attention to students, is kind, and encourages him.

Fifth-grader Will Jesske nominated Ed Aken, his teacher at Cavett Elementary School, for instilling in him a love of reading and taking the time to understand his students.

A brother and sister, Vanskiver Sundling and Velicity Sundling, both nominated Jai Burks from Park Middle School for his contribution in both their lives. Burks has taught both children music over the years.

High-schooler Han Le nominated Elizabeth Okereke, who is her English Language Learning teacher at Lincoln High, for helping her navigate a recent move from Vietnam and believing in her dreams.

There was one retired teacher nominated as well. Former Lincoln High counselor Marcia Benner was nominated by former student Joy Nagengast, who says Benner helped her get through some very difficult times, going the extra mile for her students.

We will be profiling each winner on Channel 8 Eyewitness News this week. Tune in to hear more about these teachers and their powerful influence in Lincoln.