Gregory Named to Hendricks Watch List

Posted By: Sports

Nebraska sophomore defensive end Randy Gregory is one of 18 players who have earned a spot on the mid-season watch list for the Ted Hendricks Award.

The Hendricks Award is given to the nation's premier defensive end and is named in honor of Ted Hendricks, a three-time All-American at the University of Miami who went on to an outstanding NFL career.

The 6-6, 255-pound Gregory has emerged as a dominant defender for the Nebraska defense. Gregory leads the Big Ten with 7.5 sacks and has had a hand in 13 tackles for loss. Gregory is third on the team with 39 overall tackles through nine games.

He also has a team-high 11 quarterback hurries, an interception return for a touchdown, a fumble caused and a fumble recovery.

Gregory is coming off his finest performance of the season at Michigan, when he registered three sacks to lead the Blackshirts to their best effort of the season. Gregory and the Nebraska defense held Michigan to -21 rushing yards and 175 total yards in the 17-13 victory. For his play, Gregory was named the Big Ten co-Defensive Player of the Week.

Gregory is the only Big Ten defensive end named to the Hendricks mid-season watch list.

This watch list will remain open to additions and deletions until the selection committee completes its first vote on November 25. The Hendricks Award voting committee will cast two votes: one to narrow the list of candidates to 4-6 finalists, and one to choose the winner for this season. The Final Mid-Season Watch List will be announced in late November. The 2013 winner will be announced on December 11.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End.

Hendricks Award Watch List
Vic Beasley, Clemson
Scott Crichton, Oregon State
Kasim Edebali, Boston College
Jayrone Elliott, Toledo
Dee Ford, Auburn
Randy Gregory, Nebraska
Martin Ifedi, Memphis
Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State
Kareem Martin, North Carolina
Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville
Ryan Mueller, Kansas State
Cedric Reed, Texas
Michael Sam, Missouri
Chris Smith, Arkansas
Marcus Smith, Louisville
Chidera Uzo-Diribe, Colorado
Tony Washington, Oregon