Hooper, Cady, Yori Named to Early All-Big Ten Teams

Posted By: Sports


Nebraska forwards Jordan Hooper and Emily Cady and Coach Connie Yori were named to the College Sports Madness Preseason All-Big Ten teams on Wednesday, Oct. 16.

Hooper, a two-time first-team All-Big Ten selection, was named to the College Sports Madness first-team All-Big Ten squad, while Cady claimed second-team honors. Yori, who was named the 2013 Big Ten Coach of the Year by the conference coaches, was named the 2014 preseason coach of the year by College Sports Madness.

Hooper, a 6-2 senior from Alliance, Neb., was joined on the first team by 2013 Big Ten Player of the Year Maggie Lucas from Penn State, along with Minnesota's Rachel Banham, Michigan State's Klarissa Bell and Wisconsin's Jacki Gulczynski.

Hooper, a preseason national player-of-the-year candidate and a two-time honorable-mention All-American, enters her senior season with 1,685 points, 811 rebounds and 215 career three-pointers while starting 98 consecutive games for the Huskers. Last season, Hooper averaged 17.9 points and 8.8 rebounds per game while helping the Huskers to the NCAA Sweet 16. Nebraska finished with a 25-9 overall record that included a 12-4 Big Ten mark.

Cady, a 6-2 junior from Seward, Neb., was joined on the second team by Courtney Moses (Purdue), Morgan Paige (Wisconsin), Samantha Logic (Iowa) and Micaella Riche (Minnesota).

Cady averaged 9.1 points and 7.9 rebounds per game as a sophomore. She has started 67 straight games alongside Hooper in the Husker lineup, and was voted Nebraska's top defensive player a year ago.

The teams selected by College Sports Madness are not the official preseason All-Big Ten teams chosen by the conference coaches or media. Those will be announced as part of Big Ten Conference Women's Basketball Media Day on Thursday, Oct. 31, in Chicago.

College Sports Madness Preseason All-Big Teams
Coach of the Year: Connie Yori, Nebraska
Player of the Year: Maggie Lucas, Penn State
Freshman of the Year: Nia Coffey, Northwestern

First Team
Maggie Lucas, Penn State (G)
Rachel Banham, Minnesota (G)
Klarissa Bell, Michigan State (G/F)
Jordan Hooper, Nebraska (F)
Jacki Gulczynski, Wisconsin (F)

Second Team
Courtney Moses, Purdue (G)
Morgan Paige, Wisconsin (G)
Samantha Logic, Iowa (G/F)
Micaella Riche, Minnesota (F)
Emily Cady, Nebraska (F)

Third Team
KK Houser, Purdue (G)
Karly Roser, Northwestern (G)
Amber Moore, Illinois (G/F)
Lauren Douglas, Northwestern (F)
Ashley Adams, Ohio State (C)

Fourth Team
Kiana Johnson, Michigan State (G)
Maggie Lyon, Northwestern (G)
Nicole Elmblad, Michigan (G/F)
Becca Mills, Michigan State (F)
Sasha Chaplin, Indiana (C)