Huskers Edged by Gophers at Big Ten Match Play

Posted by: Sports

The Nebraska men's golf team lost to Minnesota, 3-2-0, in the consolation bracket at the Big Ten Match Play on Saturday at The Concession Golf Club.


On Friday, the Huskers fell in their opening match to Purdue, 3-2-0, before defeating Wisconsin, 2-2-1, in the consolation bracket. Minnesota dropped its opening match to Michigan, 3-2-0, and lost to Penn State, 3-1-1. Illinois won the Big Ten Match Play Championship over Michigan State, 5-0-0. The Fighting Illini capped an impressive tournament with a 14-0-1 record.


In Saturday's opening match, Nebraska's Kolton Lapa fell to the Gophers' Erik Van Rooyen by a 5&4 margin. Lapa, a freshman, won the 10th hole to open the match, but Van Rooyen took the lead on the 13th en route to victory.


Sophomore Ross Dickson won the first three holes against Jon DuToit but lost Nos. 13, 15, 16 and 17 to trail 1 Up heading to the second nine. Dickson regained a 1 Up lead with four holes to play before DuToit won Nos. 6, 7 and 9 to close out the match.


Junior Matt Record completed a 3-0-0 weekend at The Concession Golf Club with a 4&3 victory over David Haley Jr. Record lost the opening hole, No. 10, but won Nos. 12-15 to take a 3 Up lead. He never trailed again in the match.


Senior Kevin Gillick also won his match on Saturday, 5&3, over Tyler Lowenstein. The pair matched pars on the first three holes before Gillick's birdie on the 13th. He won three of the next four holes to take a commanding lead and cruised on the second nine.


In the final match, sophomore Josh Reinertson fell 1 Up to Jon Trasamar. Reinertson never took the lead but squared the match on three occasions before Trasamar held on.


The Huskers return to action Feb. 22-24 at the Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate in Palm Desert, Calif.

Big Ten Match Play
Feb. 8-9, 2013
The Concession Golf Club, Bradenton, Fla.
Par 72 – 7,474 yards

Consolation Match: Minnesota def. Nebraska 3-2-0
Erik Van Rooyen (MIN) def. Kolton Lapa (NEB), 5&4
Jon DuToit (MIN) def. Ross Dickson (NEB), 2 Up
Matt Record (NEB) def. David Haley (MIN), 4&3
Kevin Gillick (NEB) def. Tyler Lowenstein (MIN), 5&3
Jon Trasamar (MIN) def. Josh Reinertson (NEB), 1 Up


Nebraska Records
Matt Record: 3-0-0
Kevin Gillick: 2-1-0
Ross Dickson: 1-2-0
Kolton Lapa: 0-2-1
Josh Reinertson: 0-1-0
Cameron Palmer: 0-2-0