Huskers Name Captains

LINCOLN, Neb. The Nebraska football team elected Zac Taylor, Adam Carriker and Brandon Rigoni team captains for the upcoming season.

Coach Bill Callahan said each of the senior captains, who were elected by a vote of the players, each has the qualities he looks for in a captain. He says the have shown great leadership, dedication and character both on and off the field.

Taylor, the team's starting quarterback will captain the Husker offense. Defensive end Adam Carriker will captain the Nebraska defense, and defensive back Rigoni captains special teams.

Rigoni, who grew up in Lincoln and walked on his freshman year, says he can't imagine things going better than they have for him.

Copyright 2006 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.