Kansas describes offer of Big 12 incentives

LAWRENCE, Kan. (AP) _ The Kansas athletic director says the five

Big 12 schools that were not invited to join other conferences

offered to give money to Texas, Texas A&M and Oklahoma in hope of

keeping the league together.

Athletic director Lew Perkins also said Wednesday the five

offered to share money from their portion of overall conference

revenue, not whatever penalty money Colorado and Nebraska wind up

paying for leaving the Big 12.

There had been considerable confusion on that point. Big 12

commissioner Dan Beebe said Tuesday that Kansas, Kansas State, Iowa

State, Missouri and Baylor had offered to give Texas, Texas A&M and

Oklahoma all or part of the exit penalty money.

Calls to the Big 12 office in Dallas for comment were not

immediately returned.