List of players attending Big Ten Football Media Days

Posted By: Sports

The Big Ten Conference announced today the 36 student-athletes scheduled to attend the 2012 Big Ten Media Days and Kickoff Luncheon, held Thursday and Friday, July 26 and 27, at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place and McCormick Place Convention Center in Chicago. The 41st annual luncheon is one of the most exciting and unique preseason events in college football.


The event features all 12 conference head coaches and begins at 10 a.m. CT with the players and coaches autograph and photo session for fans attending the luncheon. The luncheon is scheduled to begin at 11:30 a.m., with comments from all 12 coaches and returning All-Big Ten quarterback Denard Robinson of Michigan, who will speak on behalf of the players in attendance.


The list of student-athletes scheduled to attend includes 21 returning All-Big Ten selections. The list also includes the last two Big Ten Offensive Players of the Year in Wisconsin's Montee Ball (2011) and Michigan's Robinson (2010). In addition to Ball and Robinson, other previous first-team All-Conference honorees include Rex Burkhead of Nebraska, John Simon of Ohio State, Kawann Short of Purdue and Mike Taylor of Wisconsin.


Attendees who have earned second-team All-Big Ten honors include Illinois' Michael Buchanan, Iowa's Micah Hyde, Michigan's Taylor Lewan, Michigan State's Max Bullough, Penn State's Silas Redd and Purdue's Ricardo Allen. Previous honorable mention All-Conference honorees scheduled to appear at the event are Illinois' Graham Pocic, Iowa's James Ferentz, Michigan's Jordan Kovacs, Michigan State's Chris Norman, Nebraska's Will Compton, Northwestern's Kain Colter and Brian Mulroe, Penn State's Jordan Hill and Wisconsin's Ricky Wagner. The full list of attendees can be found below.


The Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon annually attracts some of the most talented names in college sports. The event has drawn legendary coaches as well as each of the conference's Heisman Trophy winners since 1970. In all, more than 800 of the conference's finest players, over 60 head coaches and more than 46,000 supporters have made the Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon a yearly stop in their preseason college football schedules. 








James Ferentz, Sr., C*

Micah Hyde, Sr., DB*

James Vandenberg, Sr., QB



Jordan Kovacs, Sr., S*

Taylor Lewan, Jr., OT*

Denard Robinson, Sr., QB*



Max Bullough, Jr., LB*

Andrew Maxwell, Jr., QB

Chris Norman, Sr., LB*



Keanon Cooper, Sr., LB

MarQueis Gray, Sr., QB

Ed Olson, Jr., OL



Rex Burkhead, Sr., RB*

Will Compton, Sr., LB*

Kyler Reed, Sr., TE



Kain Colter, Jr., QB*

Brian Mulroe, Sr., OL*

David Nwabuisi, Sr., LB





Michael Buchanan, Sr., DE*

Graham Pocic, Sr., C*

Nathan Scheelhaase, Jr., QB



Larry Black, Jr., Sr., DT

Will Matte, Sr., C

Adam Replogle, Sr., DT



Zach Boren, Sr., FB

Etienne Sabino, Sr., LB

John Simon, Sr., DL*



Jordan Hill, Sr., DT*

Silas Redd, Jr., TB*

John Urschel, Jr., OG



Ricardo Allen, Jr., CB*

Kawann Short, Sr., DT*

Caleb Terbush, Sr., QB



Montee Ball, Sr., RB*

Mike Taylor, Sr., LB*

Ricky Wagner, Sr., LT*


* – indicates previous All-Big Ten selection