McDermott Named AP First Team All-American

Posted By: Sports

Doug McDermott has been named a First Team All-American by
the Associated Press, the second straight year the Creighton basketball
standout has earned the accolade from the national wire service.

McDermott joins some elite company with his back-to-back first team honor
from the Associated Press. Since the awards started in 1947-48, McDermott is
just the 51st man to earn first team accolades twice, and fifth from the MVC
(joining Ed Macauley, Oscar Robertson, Wes Unseld and Larry Bird). Only 11
men in NCAA history have been named three-time First Team All-Americans at
the Division I level by the AP, and none since Patrick Ewing and Wayman
Tisdale from 1983-85.

McDermott is joined on the First Team by Michigan's Trey Burke, Georgetown's
Otto Porter Jr., Indiana's Victor Oladipo and Gonzaga's Kelly Olynyk.

The award also clinches consensus First Team All-America honors for
McDermott for the second straight year. The four teams used to select
consensus teams are the Associated Press, The National Association of
Basketball Coaches, the United States Basketball Writers Association and
Sporting News magazine. Since 1984, the NCAA has applied a standardized
point system to those teams designated as “major” All-American teams to
determine consensus teams. The point system consists of three points for
first team, two points for second team and one point for third team.

McDermott ranks second nationally in scoring (23.2) and also averages 7.7
rebounds per game. The Ames, Iowa, product leads the nation with 284 field
goals made and 834 points during a campaign that saw him shoot 54.8 percent
from the field, 49.0 percent from three-point range and 87.5 percent at the
line. The junior became the eighth player league history to win back-to-back
MVC Player of the Year accolades, and is the second to win Most Outstanding
Player honors at the MVC Tournament twice.

Creighton finished the 2012-13 season with a 28-8 record, winning MVC
regular-season and tournament titles, before being eliminated in the third
round of the NCAA Tournament on Sunday vs. No. 6 Duke.

First Team Associated Press All-America Team (first place votes, points)
Trey Burke, Michigan (62, 319)
Otto Porter Jr., Georgetown (62, 319)
Victor Oladipo, Indiana (58, 306)
Doug McDermott, Creighton (44, 279)
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga (47, 278)

Players who have repeated as Associated Press First Team All-Americans:
Three Years (10)
Tom Gola, La Salle, 1953-55; Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati, 1958-60; Jerry
Lucas, Ohio State, 1960-62; Lew Alcindor, UCLA, 1967-69; Pete Maravich, LSU,
Bill Walton, UCLA, 1972-74; David Thompson, North Carolina State,
1973-75; Ralph Sampson, Virginia, 1981-83; Patrick Ewing, Georgetown,
1983-85; Wayman Tisdale, Oklahoma, 1983-85.

Two Years (41)
Ralph Beard, Kentucky, 1948-49; Ed Macauley, St. Louis, 1948-49; Clyde
Lovellette, Kansas, 1951-52; Cliff Hagan, Kentucky, 1952, 1954; Robin
Freeman, Ohio State, 1955-56.
Bill Russell, San Francisco, 1955-56; Darrell Floyd, Furman, 1955-56;
Wilt Chamberlain, Kansas, 1957-58; Jerry West, West Virginia, 1959-60; Terry
Dischinger, Purdue, 1961-62.
Chet Walker, Bradley, 1961-62; Garry Bradds, Ohio State, 1963-64; Bill
Bradley, Princeton, 1964-65; Cazzie Russell, Michigan, 1965-66; Wes Unseld,
Louisville, 1967-68.
Elvin Hayes, Houston, 1967-68; Rick Mount, Purdue, 1969-70; Calvin
Murphy, Niagara, 1969-70; Ed Ratleff, Long Beach State, 1972-73; Adrian
Dantley, Notre Dame, 1975-76.
Scott May, Indiana, 1975-76; Kent Benson, Indiana, 1976-77; Phil Ford,
North Carolina, 1977-78; Larry Bird, Indiana State, 1978-79; David
Greenwood, UCLA, 1978-79.
Mark Aguirre, DePaul, 1980-81; Kevin Magee, UC Irvine, 1981-82; Michael
Jordan, North Carolina, 1983-84; Steve Alford, Indiana, 1986-87; Danny
Manning, Kansas, 1987-88.
Chris Jackson, LSU, 1989-90; Larry Johnson, UNLV, 1990-91; Shaquille
O'Neal, LSU, 1991-92; Tim Duncan, Wake Forest, 1996-97; Raef LaFrentz,
Kansas, 1997-98
Troy Murphy, Notre Dame, 2000-01; Jason Williams, Duke, 2001-02; J.J.
Redick, Duke, 2005-06; Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina, 2008-09; Jared
Sullinger, Ohio State, 2011-12; Doug McDermott, Creighton, 2012-13

Source: Creighton Media Relations