McDermott Named Wooden All-American

Courtesy: Creighton Athletics

OMAHA, Neb.Doug McDermott has been named to the John R. Wooden All-America Team, the third straight year the Creighton basketball standout has earned the accolade that is handed out by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

McDermott becomes the fifth man in NCAA history to have earned the honor three or more times, joining Patrick Ewing, Wayman Tisdale, Ralph Sampson and Tyler Hansbrough. He is the only repeat honoree on this year's team.

The John R. Wooden All-America team honors a 10-member squad. In addition to McDermott, the team included Cleanthony Early (Wichita State), Nick Jhonson (Arizona), Sean Kilpatrick (Cincinnati), Shabazz Napier (Connecticut), Jabari Parker (Duke), Casey Prather (Florida), Russ Smith (Louisville), Nik Stauskas (Michigan) and Andrew Wiggins (Kansas).

The Top 5 vote-getters have been invited to Los Angeles for the Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy's on April 11 and were highlighted on the show. In alphabetical order, the invited players are Early, Johnson, McDermott, Parker and Smith.

McDermott leads the nation in scoring (26.7 ppg.) and points (934) while also ranking second in field goals made (330) and ninth in three-point percentage (.449) through games of March 30th. He scored a career-high 45 points on Senior Night on March 8th to become the eighth man in NCAA history to surpass 3,000 carer points, eventually finishing fifth all-time in scoring with 3,150 career points.

McDermott has already been named National Player of the Year by Sporting News, USA Today,,, Basketball Times and Dick Vitale. The Wooden Award will name its National Player of the Year on Thursday afternoon on ESPN.

Creighton finished the 2013-14 season with a 27-8 record before being eliminated in the third round of the NCAA Tournament on March 23 vs. Baylor.

All players proved that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Voters were asked to take into account performance during the regular season and postseason through the first three rounds of the NCAA tournament, as well as a player's character and academic performance, essential components of an outstanding player.

About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Danny Manning ('88), TJ Ford ('03), Candace Parker ('07 and '08), Kevin Durant ('09) and Maya Moore ('09 and ‘11). Michigan sophomore Trey Burke won the men's Award in 2013.


Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award's name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Gala.


Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to or going to the Wooden Award facebook page at

Four-time John R. Wooden All-Americans
Patrick Ewing, Georgetown (1982-85)

Three-time John R. Wooden All-Americans
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina (2007-09)
Doug McDermott, Creighton (2012-14)
Ralph Sampson, Virginia (1981-83)
Wayman Tisdale, Oklahoma (1983-85)

Two-time John R. Wooden All-Americans
Mark Aguirre, DePaul (1980-81)
Steve Alford, Indiana (1986-87)
Ray Allen, Connecticut (1995-96)
Shane Battier, Duke (2000-01)
Len Bias, Maryland (1985-86)
Larry Bird, Indiana State (1978-79)
Dee Brown, Illinois (2005-06)
Calbert Cheaney, Indiana (1992-93)
Mateen Cleaves, Michigan State (1999-00)
Stephen Curry, Davidson (2008-09)
Todd Day, Arkansas (1991-92)
Tim Duncan, Wake Forest (1996-97)
Sean Elliott, Arizona (1988-89)
Danny Ferry, Duke (1988-89)
Phil Ford, North Carolina (1977-78)
Danny Fortson, Cincinnati (1996-97)
Hank Gathers, Loyola Marymount (1989-90)
Mike Gminski, Duke (1979-80)
David Greenwood, UCLA (1978-79)
Richard Hamilton, Connecticut (1998-99)
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame (2008-09)
Grant Hill, Duke (1993-94)
Bobby Hurley, Duke (1992-93)
Jim Jackson, Ohio State (1991-92)
Antawn Jamison, North Carolina (1997-98)
Larry Johnson, UNLV (1990-91)
Michael Jordan, North Carolina (1983-84)
Kerry Kittles, Villanova (1995-96)
Christian Laettner, Duke (1991-92)
Raef LaFrentz, Kansas (1997-98)
Trajan Langdon, Duke (1998-99)
Keith Lee, Memphis (1983, 85)
Danny Manning, Kansas (1986, 88)
Sidney Moncrief, Arkansas (1978-79)
Eric Montross, North Carolina (1993-94)
Chris Mullin, St. John's (1984-85)
Troy Murphy, Notre Dame (2000-01)
Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (1991-92)
Emeka Okafor, Connecticut (2003-04)
Sam Perkins, North Carolina (1983-84)
J.J. Redick, Duke (2005-06)
Glenn Robinson, Purdue (1993-94)
Brandon Rush, Kansas (2007-08)
Lionel Simmons, La Salle (1989-90)
Steve Smith, Michigan State (1990-91)
Charles Smith, Pittsburgh (1987-88)
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State (2011-12)
Mychal Thompson, Minnesota (1977-78)
Keith Van Horn, Utah (1996-97)
Jacque Vaughn, Kansas (1996-97)
Kenny Walker, Kentucky (1985-86)
Jason Williams, Duke (2001-02)
Corliss Williamson, Arkansas (1994-95)