McDermott Wins Player of the Year Honor From Associated Press

Posted By: Sports

Creighton senior forward Doug McDermott opened a busy week in Dallas by being named National Player of the Year by the Associated Press on Thursday afternoon. The announcement was made at a news conference at AT&T Stadium, site of this weekend's NCAA Men's Final Four.

He is the first BIG EAST Player to win the AP's top individual award since St. John's Walter Berry in 1985-86

McDermott leads the nation in scoring (26.7 ppg.) and points (934) while also ranking second in field goals made (330) and ninth in three-point percentage (.449) through games of April 2nd. He scored a career-high 45 points on Senior Night on March 8th to become the eighth man in NCAA history to surpass 3,000 carer points, eventually finishing fifth all-time in scoring with 3,150 career points.

On Monday, McDermott joined some elite company while becoming the 11th man to earn three straight first team honors from the Associated Press since the awards started in 1947-48, In addition to McDermott, Patrick Ewing and Wayman Tisdale, the only other men to earn three straight First Team accolades from the Associated Press included Tom Gola, Oscar Robertson, Jerry Lucas, Lew Alcindor, Pete Maravich, Bill Walton, David Thompson and Ralph Sampson.

The AP began handing out a National Player of the Year Award in 1960-61.

The Associated Press is the ninth different organization to honor McDermott as its National Player of the Year this season, joining the, Sporting News, USA Today,,, Basketball Times and Dick Vitale. McDermott also won the Senior CLASS Award earlier on Thursday, which takes into account his work on the court and in the classroom and community.

Creighton finished the 2013-14 season with a 27-8 record while reaching the third round of the NCAA Tournament for a third straight season.