Nebraska getting more than $7M for flood repairs

The U.S. Department of Transportation is awarding more than $7 million to Nebraska to help the state repair roadways and bridge damaged by flooding last year.

The office of U.S. Sen. Ben Nelson says the Transportation Department's Emergency Relief program was established to help repair or rebuild federal-aid roads and bridges that were seriously damaged in natural disasters or by catastrophic failures with external causes.

In June and July 2010, floods damaged qualified roadways in Antelope, Blaine, Boone, Brown, Burt, Cedar, Cherry, Cheyenne, Colfax, Cuming, Dixon, Dodge, Garfield, Harlan, Holt, Knox, Lincoln, Madison, McPherson, Otoe, Platte, Sioux, Stanton, and Thomas counties.

The Nebraska Department of Roads will decide how the federal money is divided among those counties.