Niles Paul on Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Senior wide receiver Niles Paul was one of 51 players named to the 2010 Biletnikoff Award watch list, announced on Tuesday. Paul was one of three wideouts from the Big 12 Conference to earn preliminary consideration for the award, which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding receiver.


As a junior last fall, Paul led NU with 40 receptions. He averaged 19.9 yards per catch, an average that ranked third in school history among players with at least 20 receptions. Paul hauled in four touchdown catches and also added scores on the ground and via a punt return. He posted two of Nebraska's all-time top 10 receiving games with 154 yards at Kansas (fourth) and 143 yards against Iowa State (ninth). Paul finished the year with the fifth-best receiving total (796 yards) in Husker history.


In his career, Paul has hauled in 64 catches for 1,016 yards. He needs only eight receptions and 141 yards to move into the Nebraska career top 10 in each category. Paul is also an accomplished return man, having taken both a kickoff and punt return for touchdowns. His 27.9-yard kickoff return average in 2009 ranked second in the Big 12 and was the best by a Husker in two decades. His 10.7 yards per punt return also ranked second in the league.


Semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award will be announced on Nov. 15, with finalists selected on Nov. 22. The winner of the 2010 Biletnikoff Award will be announced on Dec. 9 during the ESPN College Football Awards Show.


An all-conference selection a year ago as both a receiver and punt returner, Paul's appointment to the Biletnikoff Award watch list continues an impressive list of preseason accolades for the Huskers. Senior Roy Helu Jr. was named to the Maxwell Award (college football player of the year) watch list on Monday, while senior Prince Amukamara and junior Jared Crick were both named to the Chuck Bednarik Award (college defensive player of the year) and Bronko Nagurski Trophy (most outstanding defensive player) watch list.


Amukamara also earned a spot on the Jim Thorpe Award (nation's most outstanding defensive back) watch list, while Crick was named the Big 12's preseason co-Defensive Player of the Year and was on the Outland Trophy (nation's most outstanding interior lineman) watch list. He was also named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list.