NU Women’s Gymnastics team earns #1 seed in Big Ten Conference Meet

The Big Ten Conference announced its women's gymnastics All-Big Ten teams and Big Ten Championships seeds on Monday. The All-Conference teams feature top-six performers in the all-around and the top six in each of the four events, based on the student-athletes' regional qualifying average. The Big Ten Championships seeds are determined by the teams' regional qualifying average and will dictate which session each team competes in at this weekend's conference championships meet.


Seven gymnasts earned first-team All-Big Ten honors after finishing the regular season ranked in the top three of at least one event. The All-Big Ten first team consists of Illinois' Kelsey Joannides, Nebraska's Jessie DeZiel, Lora Evenstad, Janelle Giblin and Emily Wong, Ohio State's Sarah Miller and Penn State's Sharaya Musser.


Collecting second-team All-Conference honors are Illinois' Amber See and Alina Weinstein, Iowa's Tesla Cox, Michigan's Katie Zurales, Michigan State's Taira Neal, Nebraska's Jamie Schleppenbach, and Penn State's Whitney Bencsko and Madison Merriam.


After closing the regular season with the top regional qualifying average in the conference, Nebraska earned the No. 1 seed heading into this weekend's Big Ten Championships. The Huskers will be joined in the evening session by No. 2 Penn State, No. 3 Ohio State and No. 4 Minnesota. The afternoon session will feature No. 5 Michigan, No. 6 Illinois, No. 7 Iowa and No. 8 Michigan State.


The 2012 Big Ten Championships are set for Saturday at the University of Iowa's Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The first session is slated for 1:05 p.m. CT, with the second session following at 6:05 p.m. The complete list of championships seedings, along with the All-Big Ten teams, can be found below.



Afternoon Session – 1:05 p.m. CT

5. Michigan

6. Illinois

7. Iowa

8. Michigan State


Evening Session – 6:05 p.m. CT

1. Nebraska

2. Penn State

3. Ohio State

4. Minnesota



Kelsey Joannides, ILL

Jessie DeZiel, NEB

Lora Evenstad, NEB

Janelle Giblin, NEB

Emily Wong, NEB

Sarah Miller, OSU

Sharaya Musser, PSU



Amber See, ILL

Alina Weinstein, ILL

Tesla Cox, IOWA

Katie Zurales, MICH

Taira Neal, MSU

Jamie Schleppenbach, NEB

Whitney Bencsko, PSU

Madison Merriam, PSU