Ohio State Suspends Five Players

Ohio State quarterback Terrelle Pryor and four other Buckeyes must sit out the first five games of the 2011 season for accepting improper benefits. All can still play in the Sugar Bowl against Arkansas.

The NCAA suspensions were announced Thursday, shortly before Ohio State athletic director Gene Smith and coach Jim Tressel were to meet with reporters to discuss the university's investigation of players trading autographs for tattoos.

Pryor, running back Daniel Herron, wide receiver DeVier Posey, offensive lineman Mike Adams and defensive end Solomon Thomas also must repay between $1,000 to $2,500 to charity.

No. 6 Ohio State plays Jan. 4 in New Orleans against No. 8 Arkansas.