Pierre Allen on Watch List for Hendricks Award

The Ted Hendricks Foundation is pleased to present its list of 36 preseason candidates for the 2010 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award. 

Now in its ninth season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American.  As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs.  He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played.  His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games.  It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.  It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner.  Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee.  Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school.  The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End. 

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 – Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 – David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 – Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 – LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 – Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 – Brian Orakpo (Texas) and 2009 – Jerry Hughes (TCU).