Primary Results as of 11 P.M. Tuesday Night

State Senator Matt Connealy of Decatur has won the Democratic nomination tonight (Tuesday) in the First Congressional District. Connealy had 50 percent of the vote. His closest challenger was Fremont lawyer Janet Stewart, with 35 percent.

Former Lincoln City Council member Jeff Fortenberry is maintaining the lead in the crowded race for the Republican nomination in the First Congressional District . Fortenberry had 40 percent of the vote with 99 percent of the precincts reporting. State Senator Curt Bromm of Wahoo had 33 percent and Greg Ruehle, the executive director of The Nebraska Cattlemen, had 21 percent.

The other First District Republican candidates, all from Lincoln, were dividing the rest of the G.O.P. vote. They are Andy Ringsmuth, Robert Van Valkenburg, Greg Walburn and Daniel Manning.