University of Nebraska President Announces Retirement

L. Dennis Smith is announced his retirement Monday as President of the University of Nebraska. Already attention is turning to his successor. Two prominent names are Nebraska Representative Doug Bereuter and former U.S. Senator Bob Kerrey.

As recently as Friday, Kerrey said taking over at Nebraska is an intriguing idea. Kerrey now is president of New School University in New York City. Bereuter has hinted at a life outside politics. He has said he wouldn't rule out the possibility of someday becoming president of the university. Two members of the university's board of regents, Jim McClurg and Drew MKiller say Smith will leave his post. The 65-year-old Smith has led the university's four-campus system since 1994.