Westerkamp, Gates Lead Offensive All-Conference Honorees

Posted By: Sports


Courtesy: UNL Media Relations

Senior receiver Jordan Westerkamp and sophomore offensive tackle Nick Gates lead a group of Nebraska offensive players who received All-Big Ten recognition on Wednesday.

Westerkamp earned third-team All-Big Ten honors from the conference coaches, while Gates picked up third-team recognition from the league’s media. In addition, Westerkamp was an honorable-mention choice by the media, and Gates earned honorable-mention recognition from the coaches.

Westerkamp received All-Big Ten accolades for the second straight year after being a second-team choice in 2015. Despite missing the majority of three games with an injury, Westerkamp led the Huskers in receptions (38), receiving yards (526) and touchdown receptions (5).

Westerkamp enters the bowl game second on the Nebraska career receptions list and just six yards from moving into second on the NU career receiving yardage list. He has also caught at least one pass in 36 consecutive games, one shy of the school record.

Gates is the leader of a Nebraska offensive line that was among the nation’s best units at protecting the quarterback. The starting left tackle in all 12 games, Gates and the offensive line allowed just 11 sacks in 12 games, ranking the Huskers first in the conference in that category.

In addition to Gates and Westerkamp, three other Huskers earned honorable-mention All-Big Ten accolades, including quarterback Tommy Armstrong Jr., tight end Cethan Carter and running back Terrell Newby.

Armstrong was an honorable-mention choice by both the coaches and media. He has thrown for 2,180 yards and 14 touchdowns this season, while also rushing for 512 yards and eight touchdowns. In the process, Armstrong has set Nebraska career records for total offense, total touchdowns, passing offense and passing touchdowns.

Carter is among the top pass-catching tight ends in Nebraska history. His senior season was hampered by injury, but he managed 17 receptions. Newby played his best football in Big Ten play and finished the regular season with 864 rushing yards and seven rushing touchdowns, while also catching 16 passes out of the backfield.

The offensive honorees join the Huskers defensive and special teams honorees that were announced on Tuesday.

All-Big Ten Honors

Nick Gates, OT—Third Team, Media

Nathan Gerry—Second Team, Media; Third Team, Coaches

Jordan Westerkamp, WR—Third Team, Coaches

Honorable Mention:

Tommy Armstrong Jr., QB (Media, Coaches); Josh Banderas (Media, Coaches); Drew Brown, PK (Media); Cethan Carter, TE (Media, Coaches); Ross Dzuris, DE (Media, Coaches); Nick Gates, OT (Coaches); Chris Jones, CB (Media, Coaches); Kevin Maurice, DT (Media, Coaches); Terrell Newby, IB (Media); De’Mornay Pierson-El, PR (Media, Coaches); Jordan Westerkamp, WR (Media).

Sportsmanship Award: Sam Cotton, TE