Disaster Recovery Centers Opening in Boone, Burt, Knox and Nance Counties

LINCOLN, Neb. – The State of Nebraska and FEMA will open Disaster Recovery Centers in Boone, Burt, Knox and Nance counties.

Center locations and hours:

St. Edward Fire Hall
1302 State Highway 39
St. Edward, NE 68660
Open April 30 through May 4
9 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT

Tekamah City Auditorium
(Dining room)
1315 K. St.
Tekamah, NE 68061
Open April 29 through May 3
9 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT

Center Community Center
207 Main St.
Center, NE 68724
Open April 30 through May 3
9 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT

City Auditorium
313 Willard Ave.
Genoa, NE 68640
Open April 29 through May 3
9 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT

At the centers, recovery specialists from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will provide information on available services, explain assistance programs and help  survivors complete or check the status of their applications. They can provide referrals and help with appeals. Centers are equipped with captioned phones, video remote interpreting and assistive listening devices. Nebraska homeowners, renters and business owners in Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dodge, Douglas, Hall, Howard, Knox, Madison, Nance, Nemaha, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders,  Stanton, Thurston and Washington counties and the Santee Sioux Nation may apply for assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from severe winter storm, straight-line winds and flooding.

How to Register with FEMA:
• Online, visit www.DisasterAssistance.gov.
• On a smart phone, download the FEMA app and click on “disaster resources,” then
“apply for assistance online.”
• By phone, call FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585
(TTY). Telephone registration is available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. CDT seven days a
• Visit a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) and speak to a FEMA specialist one-on-one. To
find the nearest DRC visit: FEMA.gov/DRC, or text DRC along with a ZIP code to
43362, or call the Disaster Assistance Helpline at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585

Disaster Recovery Centers are closing permanently April 26 in Richardson and Custer Counties. 

April 26th is the final day to apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance (DUA) in Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders, and Washington Counties.

April 26th is the final day to register for the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) in Antelope, Boyd, Burt, Cuming, Hall, Howard, Madison, Nance, Pierce, Platte, Salineand Stanton counties.

Categories: Top Stories