Gov. Ricketts names interim Nebraska state fire marshal, corrections director

Untitled Design 53
Photo courtesy Office of Gov. Pete Ricketts

LINCOLN, Neb. (KLKN) — Gov. Pete Ricketts has announced interim leaders of the Nebraska Department of Correctional Services and the State Fire Marshal Agency.

Diane Sabatka-Rine will serve as the interim director of the Department of Correctional Services.

Sabatka-Rine has been with the department for nearly 40 years, serving as warden for three Nebraska correctional facilities. Hailing from Nebraska, she holds a degree in criminal justice from Wayne State College.

Sabatka-Rine will assume her role on Oct. 8, the day after Director Scott Frakes plans to resign.

Gov. Pete Ricketts also announced that Doug Hohbein will be the interim fire marshal.

Hohbein has served as assistant state fire marshal since April 2018. His career with the agency dates back to 1985, when he was stationed in Holdrege.

He is a Lincoln native with a degree in fire protection technology from Southeast Community College.

The current fire marshal, Chris Cantrell, will resign on Oct. 14, and Hohbein will take over Oct. 15.

Both interim officials will serve through the remainder of Ricketts’ tenure in office.

Categories: Nebraska News, News