Lincoln Mayor Leirion Gaylor Baird, four councilmen sworn in

LINCOLN, Neb. (KLKN) – Leirion Gaylor Baird officially began her second term as Lincoln mayor.

Gaylor Baird and four city councilmen –  Brodey Weber, Tom Duden, James Michael Bowers and Justin Carlson – were sworn in Monday.

All five were elected in the city general election on May 2.

After being sworn in, Gaylor Baird nominated Tom Beckius, who has an at-large seat, to serve as the council’s chairperson.

The council voted 7-0 to approve the nomination.

Monday’s meeting was the last for Tammy Ward, Michelle Suarez and Richard Meginnis.

SEE ALSO: City council votes to end Lincoln’s state of emergency for COVID

Categories: Lancaster, News