Malcolm X to be inducted into Nebraska Hall of Fame

Mgn 640x360 10203c00 Vmhpt
Ed Ford / Library of Congress

LINCOLN, Neb. (KLKN) – The Nebraska Hall of Fame Commission chose Malcolm Little, also known as Malcolm X, on Monday as the next member of the hall of fame.

Malcolm X was born in Omaha on May 19, 1925, to the Rev. Earl and Louise Little.

After his father helped organize the Universal Negro Improvement Association, the family began receiving threats.

They moved to Milwaukee and later to Michigan, where Rev. Little was run over and killed by a streetcar.  Malcolm X believed it was a murder.

Once his mother fell ill, Malcolm X was sent to Boston, then later New York, where he was convicted of burglary.

While serving a 6½-year sentence, he converted to the Nation of Islam.

After leaving prison, he studied under Elijah Muhammad, leader of the Nation of Islam, and became outspoken about the mistreatment of Black people.

Malcolm X formed the Organization of Afro-American Unity in 1964 and became renowned as an articulate spokesman for human rights.

He was assassinated on Feb. 21, 1965, in New York City.

“Malcolm X used the lessons he learned early in life and his intellectual power, dedication and perseverance in the fight for freedom and equality for all during the Civil Rights Movement in America,” Ron Hull, chair of the Hall of Fame Commission, said in a press release.  “His work and his legacy continue to impact the citizens of the world.”

Eventually, a sculpture of Malcolm X will be on display at the Nebraska State Capitol.

To be eligible for membership in the hall of fame, the person must have been born in Nebraska, gained prominence while living in Nebraska or whose residence in Nebraska was an important influence on their lives and contributed to their greatness.

In addition, inductees can only be considered 35 years after their death.

Categories: Nebraska News, News, Top Stories