Pillen forms committee to overhaul Nebraska’s school aid formula

Jim Pillen At Airport

LINCOLN, Neb. (KLKN) — Nebraska’s formula that calculates how much money the state sends to schools will soon be under review.

On Thursday, Gov.-elect Jim Pillen announced members of the new School Finance Reform Committee.

The group will assess the state’s school aid formula under the Nebraska Tax Equity and Educational Opportunities Support Act (TEEOSA) and offer recommendations on how it can be reformed.

“Of our 244 school districts, only 86 receive any state aid. The formula is not fair, it is not Nebraska, and it gives up on our kids,” Pillen said in a press release. “I’ll be collaborating with these experienced educators, policymakers and stakeholders to come up with recommendations on how we are going to reform TEEOSA, so that we can come together and create a system that invests in every Nebraska student.”

Initial members of the committee include:

  • Gov.-elect Jim Pillen
  • The governor-elect’s policy team
  • Members of STANCE (Schools Taking Action For Nebraska Children’s Education)
  • Lakeview Community Schools Superintendent Aaron Plas
  • Seward Public Schools Superintendent Josh Field
  • Lincoln Public Schools Superintendent Paul Gausman
  • Omaha Public Schools Superintendent Cheryl Logan
  • Members from both LPS and OPS
  • CEO of Avenues Scholars Ken Bird
  • State Sen. Rita Sanders
  • State Sen. Tom Briese
  • The Nebraska Association of School Boards
  • The Nebraska Rural Community Schools Association
  • The Nebraska Farm Bureau
  • The Nebraska Cattlemen
  • Americans for Prosperity – Nebraska
Categories: Capitol News, Education News, Nebraska News, News