Northeast Amateur Prepares For Largest-Ever Field, Menante Going For Three-Peat

Northeast Amateur Press Release

RUMFORD, R.I. – Welcome to the 61st Northeast Amateur Invitational golf tournament set for June 21-24 at Wannamoisett
Country Club. The Northeast Amateur once again expects an elite field of golfers from around the United States, and the
world. The Northeast is the second of seven tournaments in the Elite Amateur Series, a series which awards points to players
in the field based on their finishes. Points leaders can earn exemptions into PGA Tour and USGA events.

Tournament chairman Ben Tuthill has assembled the largest field in event history which includes many of the top Mid-Ams,
juniors and collegiate players in the world. The field features players representing 12 different countries and 50 different
colleges and universities. Of the collegiate players set to tee it up, 35 were recently named to Division I PING All-Region
Teams and feature five First Team All-Americans.

This year’s field includes our back-to-back defending Champion Dylan Menante of the University of North Carolina. He
lapped the field and shattered records by posting a 72-hole total of 19-under par, breaking the tournament record by four
strokes. Menante became the fifth player to win consecutive Northeast crowns, joining Rhode Islander Ronnie Quinn (1964-
65) and PGA Tour stars John Cook (1978-79), Jay Sigel (1984-85) and Luke Donald (2000-2001).

Caleb Surratt (Tennessee) won the Elite Amateur Cup last summer by competing in all seven events of the series. He went
on to be named First Team All-American in his Freshman year for the Vols and is looking to improve on his 3rd place finish
in Rumford last year. First Team All-American, 2022 NCAA Individual National Champion and Masters participant Gordon
Sargent (Vanderbilt) will return and is currently the #2 ranked amateur player in the world. The other First Team AllAmerican set to return to the Northeast Amateur includes Ben James (Virginia) from Connecticut, who won the Phil Mickelson award as the NCAA’s Freshman of the Year; reigning Southern Amateur Champion David Ford (North Carolina)
and former U.S. Junior and Sunnehanna Champ Preston Summerhays (Arizona State).

The Northeast Amateur begins with a Sponsor/Contestant Tournament on Tuesday, June 20. The tournament proper begins
the next morning at 8 a.m.

Categories: National and World News