Three Huskers selected in UFL Draft

A trio of former Nebraska football players heard their names called during the United Football League Draft Monday evening.

Ricky Henry was a fourth-round selection of the Hartford Colonials, while Mike Smith and D.J. Jones were selected by the Omaha Nighthawks in the fifth and sixth rounds, respectively. They join the seven other Huskers who were selected in last weekend's NFL Draft.

Henry started every game over the last two seasons, helping the Huskers make a pair of Big 12 Championship Game appearances. A first-team All-Big 12 guard, Henry helped Nebraska average 247.6 yards per game on the ground in 2010 to lead the Big 12 and rank ninth nationally. NU totaled 10 games with at least 200 yards, including a 451-yard effort on the ground at Kansas State.

Smith was a two-year starter on the Husker offensive line before missing all of his senior year with a broken leg. As a junior, he started all 14 games and helped Roy Helu Jr. rush for 1,147 yards and 10 scores. He made 12 starts as a sophomore, as Nebraska ranked in the top 15 nationally in passing offense and total offense.

Jones moved into the starting lineup as a senior and flourished, helping Nebraska rank ninth nationally and lead the Big 12 in rushing at 247.6 yards per game in 2010. The Omaha native served as a backup at the tackle position as a junior and played in 39 games during his Husker career. Not only could both Jones and Smith play in Omaha, but they would be coached by a familiar face, as Joe Moglia is the head coach of the Nighthawks. Moglia worked on the Husker football staff the past two seasons, helping Nebraska to back-to-back 10-win campaigns.

Nebraska players have enjoyed success in the league during its first two years, most notably Cory Ross, who starred at Nebraska earlier this decade. Ross, who plays for the Sacramento Mountain Lions, was chosen as the UFL Offensive Player of the Year, setting league records in receptions and yards from scrimmage in 2010 after topping the league in rushing in 2009.