Huskers select eight for Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame’s 2022 class

LINCOLN, Neb. (KLKN) – The Huskers announced the eight members of the University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame class of 2022 on Monday.

This year’s class includes:

  • Guy Chamberlin (football, 1913-15)
  • Christina Houghtelling (volleyball, 2003-07)
  • Patrick Kirksey (men’s gymnastics, 1987-90)
  • Shane Komine (baseball, 1999-2002)
  • Angela Thacker (women’s track and field, 1983-86)
  • Ali Viola (softball, 1995-98)
  • Former bowling head coach Bill Straub
  • Women’s sports advocate Louise Pound.

The six student-athletes combined to win five national championships, four individual NCAA titles and 31 All-American awards.

“This is an outstanding class who are all extremely deserving of induction into the University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame,” Athletic Director Trev Alberts said.  “This distinguished group embodied competitive excellence, using their individual talents to lead their Husker teams to tremendous success.”

Pound was an advocate for women’s athletics in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

She is being inducted to mark the 50th anniversary of Title IX becoming federal law, the university said.

“As we prepare to kick off a year-long celebration of the 50th anniversary of Title IX, we are also pleased to recognize the immense contributions of Louise Pound, a pioneer who was truly one of the first champions for female athletes and whose athletic and academic contributions have left a lasting mark at the University of Nebraska,” Alberts said.

A full list of the class of 2022’s accomplishments can be found here.

Categories: Husker Sports, Sports