President Joe Biden declares disaster in parts of Nebraska from May winds

LINCOLN, Neb. (KLKN) – On Wednesday, President Joe Biden approved disaster assistance for Nebraska from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The assistance was approved for 20 counties, mostly in eastern and central Nebraska, that were hit by severe storms and straight-line winds on May 12.

Funding will be provided to state, tribal and local governments and nonprofits on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged.

The following counties will receive the majority of disaster support: Antelope, Boone, Burt, Cedar, Cuming, Custer, Dixon, Garfield, Greeley, Holt, Knox, Logan, Pierce, Polk, Sherman, Thurston, Valley, Wayne, Wheeler and York.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Andrew Meyer has been named as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.

Categories: Nebraska News, News, Weather