Husker legend Grant Wistrom will join Orange Bowl Hall of Fame

Untitled Design 14
Courtesy NU Communications

LINCOLN, Neb. (KLKN) – Husker legend Grant Wistrom will now have his name forever enshrined in the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame.

Wistrom is joined by Oklahoma’s Dewey Selmon and Miami’s Bernard Clark Jr. in the 2022 class of inductees.

Those three illustrious players will be recognized at a luncheon on Dec. 29 before being featured during the Orange Bowl on Dec. 30.

Wistrom helped the Huskers to victory in three Orange Bowls during his time at Nebraska.

In the 1997 Orange Bowl, the Huskers faced No. 3 Tennessee, which at the time was led by a young Peyton Manning.

Wistrom and the Blackshirts kept Peyton at bay and held him to just 134 passing yards.

The Missouri native is the 15th Husker to be inducted into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame, alongside coaches Tom Osborne and Bob Devaney.

Nebraska now ties Oklahoma for the second-most inductees. Miami has the most.

The Huskers have made trips to 17 Orange Bowls, which is the program’s most appearances in any bowl game.

Categories: Husker Sports, Sports